Get the checklist

Best pull up bar for a home gym

We may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page. It never changes our picks. How we make money

The short answer

The best pull-up bar depends on what you already own. If you have a power rack, the Bells of Steel Adjustable Pull-up Bar Rack Attachment (500 lb capacity, 6-gauge steel, $58.96–$119.99) fits most hole patterns. If you need a full rack with a bar built in, the Titan T-3 Series Power Rack 82-36 ($559.97) includes both 1.25 in and 2 in bars.

Steel pull-up bar mounted on a power rack in a home gym
Illustration, not the products reviewed.
On this page 24 sections
  1. The short answer
  2. Our picks at a glance
  3. T-3 Series Power Rack 82-36
  4. T-3 Series Power Rack 91-36
  5. Adjustable Pull-up Bar Rack Attachment
  6. Garage Series Squat Rack Pull Up Bar
  7. Pull Up Bar Handle (Pair)
  8. T2 Series Power Rack
  9. Fat/Skinny Pull Up Bar
  10. SportBench Chin-up and Pull-up Bar Attachment
  11. What’s the best pull-up bar for a home gym?
  12. How we ranked these picks
  13. Full rack vs. bar attachment: which do you need?
  14. Ceiling height: the number that decides your setup
  15. Weight capacity: what the numbers mean
  16. Steel gauge and bar diameter compared
  17. Warranty terms: what’s actually listed
  18. Price per pound of capacity (our calculation)
  19. Compatibility checklist before you buy
  20. Building your own setup instead
  21. Safety notes before you hang bodyweight from anything
  22. Bottom line
  23. Questions
  24. Sources

Our picks at a glance

Summary of every pick with what it is best for and its checked price
PickBest forPrice
T-3 Series Power Rack 82-36Best overall with dual bars$559.97 at Titan Fitness
T-3 Series Power Rack 91-36Best for tall ceilings$639.97 at Titan Fitness
Adjustable Pull-up Bar Rack AttachmentBest attachment for an existing rack$58.96–$119.99 at Bells of Steel
Garage Series Squat Rack Pull Up BarBest budget full rack$349.00 at Fringe Sport
Pull Up Bar Handle (Pair)Best for grip-width variety$119.00 at Force USA
T2 Series Power RackBest budget rack with bar$399.97 at Titan Fitness
Fat/Skinny Pull Up BarBest budget attachment$69.96–$72.96 at Bells of Steel
SportBench Chin-up and Pull-up Bar AttachmentBest for PowerBlock SportBench owners$149.00 at PowerBlock

Prices checked on the dates shown with each pick. They change often; confirm before you buy.

1Best overall with dual bars

T-3 Series Power Rack 82-36

A full power rack with pin-and-pipe safeties and both a standard and fat-grip pull-up bar included. Titan recommends bolting it down.

Why it ranks here: Only pick in our product research with two bar diameters (1.25 in and 2 in) built in, plus a 1-year warranty and a listed 200 lb rating.

T-3 Series Power Rack 82-36 specifications
Overall height82 in
Max pull-up height78 in
Bar diameters included1.25 in and 2 in
Listed capacity200 lb
Warranty1 year

Keep it if

  • Two bar sizes for grip variety
  • Nylon-lined J-hooks
  • Under $600

Skip it if

  • Titan recommends bolting to the floor

$559.97 at Titan Fitness · checked See it at Titan Fitness

2Best for tall ceilings

T-3 Series Power Rack 91-36

The 91-inch version of Titan's T-3 rack for garages with extra ceiling clearance. In stock as of the check date.

Why it ranks here: Taller frame gives an 88 in max pull-up height, the highest listed in our product research, with a 1,100 lb rated capacity.

T-3 Series Power Rack 91-36 specifications
Overall height91 in
Max pull-up height88 in
Footprint46 in x 42 in
Rated capacity1,100 lb

Keep it if

  • Highest pull-up clearance in our product research
  • In stock

Skip it if

  • Needs a tall ceiling to use the full height

$639.97 at Titan Fitness · checked See it at Titan Fitness

3Best attachment for an existing rack

Adjustable Pull-up Bar Rack Attachment

A bolt-on bar for racks with 2.3 in or 3 in uprights. Three finishes cover 5/8 in and 1 in hole patterns.

Why it ranks here: 500 lb capacity and 6-gauge steel are the highest listed ratings among attachment-only bars in our product research, with three fit options.

Adjustable Pull-up Bar Rack Attachment specifications
Steel gauge6-gauge
Weight capacity500 lb
Bar diameter1.25 in
Fit options2.3 in, Hydra 3 in, Manticore 3 in
HardwareHitch pins or quick-locking mag pins included

Keep it if

  • Fits multiple rack widths
  • Highest capacity attachment in our product research

Skip it if

  • Must match your exact upright size and hole pattern

$58.96–$119.99 at Bells of Steel · checked See it at Bells of Steel

4Best budget full rack

Garage Series Squat Rack Pull Up Bar

A one-piece continuous steel upright rack with 5/8 in holes and built-in weight pegs. Fringe says assembly takes under an hour.

Why it ranks here: Lowest price in our product research for a full rack with a built-in bar, at $349, with heavier-gauge steel uprights than a basic stand.

Garage Series Squat Rack Pull Up Bar specifications
Upright constructionOne-piece continuous steel
Hole size5/8 in
ExtrasBuilt-in weight pegs, floor-bolt tabs
Assembly timeUnder 1 hour (maker estimate)

Keep it if

  • Lowest full-rack price in our product research
  • Floor-bolt option included

Skip it if

  • No listed weight capacity or warranty term

$349.00 at Fringe Sport · checked See it at Fringe Sport

5Best for grip-width variety

Pull Up Bar Handle (Pair)

A pair of handles for 3x3 racks with 1-inch holes. Mild knurling and height-adjustable mounting let you set it up for rows or pull-ups.

Why it ranks here: The only pick with a twist-lock, tool-free width adjustment, for switching grip angles between sets.

Pull Up Bar Handle (Pair) specifications
Rack compatibility3x3 uprights, 1 in holes
Grip adjustmentTool-free twist-lock
Grip surfaceMild knurling
MountingHeight-adjustable on numbered holes

Keep it if

  • No tools needed to change width
  • Works for rows too

Skip it if

  • Needs a compatible 3x3, 1 in hole rack

$119.00 at Force USA · checked See it at Force USA

6Best budget rack with bar

T2 Series Power Rack

A two-height rack (71 in or 83 in) with pin-and-pipe safeties, weight horns and a 1.25 in pull-up bar.

Why it ranks here: At $399.97, this is the cheapest full rack with a bar included, with a sale price down from $499.99 on the checked date.

T2 Series Power Rack specifications
Heights available71 in or 83 in
Footprint57 in x 50 in
Bar diameter1.25 in
Max pull-up height69 in (at 71 in setting)

Keep it if

  • Cheapest rack-with-bar combo in our product research
  • In stock

Skip it if

  • Shorter max pull-up height than the T-3 models

$399.97 at Titan Fitness · checked See it at Titan Fitness

7Best budget attachment

Fat/Skinny Pull Up Bar

A double bar with a standard and a fat-grip section, black powder coat finish. Choose the size for your rack's width and hole size.

Why it ranks here: Two grip diameters on one bar for under $73, with a 500 lb capacity matching the pricier Bells of Steel attachment.

Fat/Skinny Pull Up Bar specifications
Weight capacity500 lb
Grip optionsStandard bar and fat grip bar
FinishRust-resistant black powder coat
Fit optionsHydra 3 in or Manticore 3 in, 5/8 in and 1 in holes

Keep it if

  • Two grips for under $75
  • Hardware included

Skip it if

  • Only fits Bells of Steel's listed rack widths

$69.96–$72.96 at Bells of Steel · checked See it at Bells of Steel

8Best for PowerBlock SportBench owners

SportBench Chin-up and Pull-up Bar Attachment

A wide-grip 28mm bar with foam padding, sized to bolt onto the PowerBlock SportBench frame.

Why it ranks here: Only bar in our product research built specifically for the PowerBlock SportBench, with a listed 250 lb capacity and foam grips.

SportBench Chin-up and Pull-up Bar Attachment specifications
Bar diameter28 mm
Weight capacity250 lb
GripFoam-padded
Dimensions48 in W x 82.5 in H

Keep it if

  • Foam grips for comfort
  • Purpose-built for the SportBench

Skip it if

  • Only compatible with the PowerBlock SportBench

$149.00 at PowerBlock · checked See it at PowerBlock

Close-up of pull up bar in a home gym, showing texture and construction
Detail view. Illustration, not the products reviewed.

What’s the best pull-up bar for a home gym?

The best pull-up bar depends on what’s already in your garage. If you own a power rack with 3x3 or 2.3-inch uprights, the Bells of Steel Adjustable Pull-up Bar Rack Attachment ($58.96–$119.99) is rated to 500 lb and bolts onto most standard hole patterns.

If you’re starting from scratch, the Titan T-3 Series Power Rack 82-36 ($559.97) gives you a full rack plus two bar diameters — 1.25 in and 2 in — built in, backed by a 1-year warranty. This article is based on maker specs, prices and published info as of the check date; no products were physically tested.

How we ranked these picks

Every product below comes from a maker’s own product page, checked on the date listed in the sources. We ranked on four things the makers publish: weight capacity, steel gauge or bar diameter, price against what’s included, and warranty terms where a maker states one.

We split picks into two groups: full racks with a bar built in, and stand-alone bar attachments for a rack you already own. Where a maker didn’t list a spec — like a warranty term on an attachment — we say so instead of guessing. See /how-we-research/ for the general method.

Full rack vs. bar attachment: which do you need?

If you don’t have a rack yet, buy one with a bar built in. If you already have a compatible rack, an attachment is the cheaper path.

Option Starting price Capacity listed Best for
T-3 Series Power Rack 82-36 (Titan) $559.97 200 lb New buyers, no existing rack
Garage Series Squat Rack Pull Up Bar (Fringe Sport) $349.00 Not listed Budget full-rack buyers
Adjustable Pull-up Bar Rack Attachment (Bells of Steel) $58.96 500 lb Owners of a compatible rack
Fat/Skinny Pull Up Bar (Bells of Steel) $69.96 500 lb Owners wanting two grip options

A standalone rack costs more up front but you don’t need a second purchase. An attachment only works if your rack’s upright width and hole size match — check that before ordering.

Ceiling height: the number that decides your setup

Manufacturers list a minimum ceiling height for a full pull-up, meaning your head clears the bar at the top of the rep. The figures range from 8 feet 2 inches to 8 feet 4 inches across different rack models in our product research.

Rack model Min. ceiling for full pull-up
Force USA G1 8 ft 3 in
Force USA G4 8 ft 4 in
Force USA G20 8 ft 2 in

Measure your actual garage ceiling before buying. If you’re under 8 feet, look at wall-mount or fold-away options covered in /best-ceiling-mount-pull-up-bar/ instead of a full rack.

Weight capacity: what the numbers mean

The attachments in our product research lists capacities of 500 lb (Bells of Steel, both models) and 250 lb (PowerBlock SportBench). That number is your bodyweight plus anything you add, like a weight vest or dip belt.

(our calculation): a 200 lb lifter using a 500 lb-rated bar with a 20 lb weight vest is loading 220 lb, well under the rated limit. The same lifter on the PowerBlock’s 250 lb-rated bar with the same vest is at 220 lb of 250 lb — closer to the ceiling, worth knowing before adding a heavier vest. See /best-weight-vest-for-men/ for vest options if you’re weighting your pull-ups.

Steel gauge and bar diameter compared

Lower gauge numbers mean thicker steel. The Bells of Steel attachment uses 6-gauge steel; Titan’s T-3 racks use 11-gauge for the rack frame itself.

Product Steel/frame spec Bar diameter
Bells of Steel Adjustable Pull-up Bar 6-gauge 1.25 in
Titan T-3 Series Power Rack 82-36 11-gauge frame 1.25 in and 2 in
Bells of Steel Fat/Skinny Bar Not stated separately Standard bar + fat grip bar
Force USA Pull Up Bar Handle Not stated Fits 1 in rack holes

A fat-grip section, offered on the Bells of Steel Fat/Skinny bar, forces a wider hand span and works the forearms harder than a standard 1.25 in bar. If you want both without buying two products, that’s the only pick in our product research offering it on one unit.

Warranty terms: what’s actually listed

Not every product in our product research states a warranty. Titan’s T-3 Series racks list a 1-year warranty. Fringe Sport’s Dane 2.0 functional trainer, which includes pull-up options, carries a lifetime warranty on the rack frame and a 5-year warranty on its pulley system — but that’s a larger, pricier unit than a simple bar.

The attachment-only products — Bells of Steel’s two bars, the Force USA handles, and the PowerBlock SportBench bar — don’t list a separate warranty term on their pages. If warranty length matters to you, a full rack with a stated term is the safer bet.

Price per pound of capacity (our calculation)

Using the listed prices and capacities, here’s what you pay per pound of rated weight capacity on the attachment-only picks.

Product Price Capacity Cost per lb of capacity (our calculation)
Bells of Steel Adjustable Bar (2.3 in) $58.96 500 lb $0.12
Bells of Steel Fat/Skinny Bar (Hydra) $69.96 500 lb $0.14
PowerBlock SportBench Bar $149.00 250 lb $0.60

The Bells of Steel bars come out cheapest per pound of rated capacity, but the PowerBlock bar is the only one built specifically for the SportBench frame, so it’s not a fair swap if you already own that bench.

Compatibility checklist before you buy

Match these four things between your rack and any attachment bar: upright width (2.3 in vs 3 in), hole size (5/8 in vs 1 in), hole spacing, and bar diameter you want. Getting even one wrong means the bar won’t mount.

Bells of Steel’s attachments spell out three separate fit variants for this reason — 2.3 in racks, Hydra 3 in racks, and Manticore 3 in racks — each with a different price. Force USA’s handles are built only for 3x3 uprights with 1-inch holes, so they won’t fit a 2.3-inch stand at all.

Building your own setup instead

If none of these fit your rack or budget, a DIY approach using dimensional lumber or scaffold pipe is another route — see /diy-pull-up-bar-ideas/ for layout ideas. Pair any bar with resistance bands for assisted reps if you’re building toward your first unassisted pull-up; options are covered in /resistance-bands-for-pull-up/ and /best-resistance-bands/.

For the rack itself, browse full options in /best-power-racks/ and general accessory picks in /accessories/. If you’re set on a name-brand standalone bar, the /titan-fitness-pull-up-bar-review/ and /rep-fitness-wall-mounted-multi-grip-pull-up-bar/ pages cover single-product detail beyond this roundup.

Safety notes before you hang bodyweight from anything

Bolt any rack to the floor if the maker recommends it — Titan’s T-3 Series pages note this for their power racks. Never mount a bar to drywall alone; attach into wall studs or a rack frame rated for bodyweight loads, and have a licensed contractor handle any structural wall or ceiling mounting.

Check hardware tightness before every session, especially on attachment bars using hitch pins or mag pins. A pin that isn’t fully seated can let the bar shift mid-rep.

Bottom line

For most home gyms without an existing rack, the Titan T-3 Series Power Rack 82-36 gives the most for $559.97: two bar diameters, a 1-year warranty, and a listed 200 lb capacity. If you already own a compatible rack, the Bells of Steel Adjustable Pull-up Bar Rack Attachment is the cheapest way in at $58.96, rated to 500 lb.

Match upright width and hole size before ordering any attachment, and measure your ceiling against the 8 ft 2 in to 8 ft 4 in range makers list for a full pull-up. Prices and stock change, so confirm current numbers on the maker’s page before you buy.

Questions

How high does my ceiling need to be for a pull-up bar?

Maker pages list a minimum of 8 feet 2 inches to 8 feet 4 inches for a full pull-up with your head above the bar, depending on the rack. Measure your actual ceiling height and subtract the rack's max pull-up height before buying.

What weight capacity should a pull-up bar attachment have?

The attachments in our product research are rated to 500 lb (Bells of Steel) or 250 lb (PowerBlock SportBench). Check the number against your bodyweight plus any weight vest or dip belt you plan to add.

Do pull-up bar attachments fit any power rack?

No. Bar diameter, hole size (5/8 in vs 1 in) and upright width (2.3 in vs 3 in) all have to match. The Bells of Steel and Force USA attachments each list specific compatible rack widths and hole patterns.

Is a rack with a built-in bar better than a separate attachment?

A built-in bar, like the ones on Titan's T-3 Series racks, saves a purchase step and is matched to that rack from the factory. A separate attachment is cheaper if you already own a compatible rack.

What's the difference between a fat grip and skinny grip pull-up bar?

A fat bar has a larger diameter that forces a stronger grip and works the forearms harder. Bells of Steel's Fat/Skinny bar gives both options on one attachment for $69.96 to $72.96 depending on hole size.

Can I add a pull-up bar to a squat stand?

Some squat stands, like Rogue's SML-1, do not include a pull-up bar and add one only as a customization. Others, like Titan's T-3 Series Tall Squat Stand, list an adjustable pull-up bar as included.

What warranty comes with a pull-up bar attachment?

Titan's T-3 Series racks list a 1-year warranty. The Fringe Sport Dane 2.0 functional trainer, which includes a pull-up option, carries a lifetime warranty on the rack frame. Attachment-only products in our product research don't list a separate warranty term.

Sources

Every fact on this page comes from the sources below. We did not test these products by hand.

  1. Adjustable Pull-up Bar Rack Attachment — Bells of Steel, accessed
  2. Fat/Skinny Pull Up Bar — Bells of Steel, accessed
  3. Pull Up Bar Handle (Pair) — Force USA, accessed
  4. Garage Series Squat Rack Pull Up Bar — Fringe Sport, accessed
  5. T-3 Series Power Rack 82-36 — Titan Fitness, accessed
  6. T-3 Series Power Rack 91-36 — Titan Fitness, accessed
  7. T2 Series Power Rack — Titan Fitness, accessed
  8. SportBench Chin-up and Pull-up Bar Attachment — PowerBlock, accessed
    ↑↓to move↵to openescto closeSaved only on this device